Dear John Letter

Dear John

Dear John, I know you don’t want to see this right now, and I’m sorry if this isn’t the right time. The truth is – I just can’t take it anymore. I have loved you, and I will always love you, but there is something going on in my heart that I can’t explain. Because of this, I feel like I can’t move on with my life. Please don’t wait for me – I don’t know if I’ll ever be back. Love, Janice.

Note in hand, John let his arm fall as his head leaned back, mouthing the word fuck in the process. Then he shook his head, mumbling to himself, “I can’t fucking believe it.” He scanned the note again without really reading it, the curvy lines of Janice’s handwriting burning into his mind. Something going on in my heart? He crumpled it into a tight wad and tossed it into the garbage. Marmalade, the Shih Tzu they’d picked out together, looked at him from the floor, his tail wagging ever so slightly, as if he suspected something was amiss.

“What the hell am I going to do with you?”

Marmalade pierced him with his round black eyes, the redness of his tongue barely discernible through his furry face. John had to turn away. Looking through the window above the sink, he put his hands to his forehead and began rubbing his eyes with his palms. “This world is so lame,” he groaned, thinking about the day ahead, how everyone at work would probably notice something was up. Finished with his little moment, he turned to look at Marmalade again, who appeared ready for whatever was to come, like possibly a walk, or maybe a trip in the car.

“Things are about to get a little lonely around her bud,” John said, sympathizing. Marmalade cocked his head sideways. “What do I mean? Is that what you’re asking? It means mommy is gone my little friend.”

Marmalade’s tail wagging accelerated, and the little furry animal waddled over. John leaned over to pick him up and soon, a lick was felt upon his cheek. “If I find her, maybe I’ll mail you to her in a box.” The dog licked him again. “Alright, I guess you can stay.”

Leave a Reply

